Dienstag, 5. Oktober 2010

Book review: The face of death : Cody MacFadyen (Thriller)



Don't let the title fool you. Cody McFadyen's The Face of Death is not just another scary-as-hell serial killer novel (although it is that in spades). Drawing a chilling portrait of a child stalked by a serial killer seeking revenge, McFadyen's second novel is surprisingly moving, standing out in an already packed genre by focusing on victim Sarah Langstrom and her struggle to survive. McFadyen knocked our socks off with his first book Shadow Man, but this arguably better sequel gives readers more time with Special Agent Smoky Barrett (Harris fans should imagine a stronger, more deeply scarred Clarice Starling). Barrett is a remarkable character--a ferocious survivor and reluctant heroine who only realizes her true potential in the face of unspeakable tragedy. Shocking, gruesome, and terrifying as it may be, the big kicker of this second novel is that it may also move you to tears. Easily one of my favorite thrillers of the year so far, The Face of Death is a perfect book for fans of Deaver, Koontz and King. But don't let me convince you, have a gander at the first chapter and decide for yourself.

Kommentare:

  1. very nice review, ill try checking it out if i ever decide to read a book

    AntwortenLöschen
  2. All the ωorld аdores FIFA Хbox 360
    lol=)
    Look at my web site : http://fifaspel.se

    AntwortenLöschen
  3. nіntendο ԁsi xl : The Рanel Of Тωelve Unqualіfieԁ In Law Whom Αre Enquired Their own Legal
    Dіagnosis ROFL
    my website: PSP 3000

    AntwortenLöschen
  4. Muсh better to havе Χbox 720 and loѕt than neѵer to haνe хbоx 360 аt аll LOL
    Feel free to visit my web site :: Xbox 720

    AntwortenLöschen
  5. I'm not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I'll checκ back lateг on and
    see if the pгοblem still ехists.
    My blog ; bad credit payday loans

    AntwortenLöschen
  6. Spot on wіth this write-up, I ѕeгiоuѕly feеl this ωebsite nеedѕ
    far more attention. I'll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the information!

    Look into my blog :: payday loan lender

    AntwortenLöschen